All-Inclusive Contract Recommendations

When I work as a consultant, I generally do an hourly plus expenses negotiation but I have a potential contract that wants to do an all-inclusive rate that is about $30 to $40 more than I would usually bill to cover the travel expenses. I’d prefer not to disclose geographic locations but my origination and ending point are both in the US and I need to fly. The destination city has fairly reasonable public transportation from the airport to my hotel and the hotel is walking distance from the client site.

I’ve never done it, but I have some general ideas. I’d like to know which of my ideas are correct and what additional ideas people may have:

1. When my expenses are being reimbursed, I max out the daily limit and enjoy myself, but given each dollar of food is 50 cents less money in my pocket (after taxes), I am planning to be frugal in my eating choices, to include packing some of my food with me for the week such as canned salmon, almonds, and possibly a few days worth of salads with some ice packs to keep cool on the plane.

2. Rather than itemize my meal expenses at the end of the year against the 1099ed income, I will use the Per Diem rate for food, which if I am eating frugally, would be double or triple what I actually pay for food. Of course, meals are only half deductible off taxes, but I get to deduct the artificially high per diem meals rate, and it’s fully legal and also a heck of a lot simpler.

3. The hotel I am selecting is based on geographic location to the client but seems very reasonably priced for the area. I might be able to negotiate a weekly rate that is cheaper than daily, but perhaps suboptimal since I only need to be on-site for 3.5 days a week (40 hours)