Cord cutting devices: Android TV, Chromecast, Roku, etc

I decided to cut the cord with Comcast and try out a Chromecast and a Roku with Hulu and Amazon Instant Video.

Recently, I purchased (but have not received yet) a cheap Android TV box, this one in particular: http://www.ebay.com/itm/X96-TV-Box-Amlogic-S905X-Android-6-0-Quad-Core-2-4GHz-WiFi-HDMI2-0-1G-2G-8G-16G-/172885647828.

Any experience with these Android TV devices?

4 Likes

I use an Amazon FireTV with my cord cutting setup. It works well as I mostly watch Netflix and Amazon Videos. I also use Plex to watch content off of my home server.

What doesn’t work well is integration with Google play/apps (except YouTube). I have a Play Music subscription but haven’t been able to use it on the FireTV. I also don’t buy any video content from Google because it won’t play through the FireTV.

1 Like

I don’t have Netflix or Hulu, but do have a Prime Account. I got rid of my cables several years back and have been using an antenna for OTA channels. Lately I discovered Kodi and have been using it on my Windows 10 HTPC. It’s pretty great because you can pretty much stream from just about all the OTA channels through their add-ons.

1 Like

There is a KODI android app. You should be able to easily install it on an Android TV box. You can also install it on the FireTV, but you have to side load it so it isn’t as straight forward.

1 Like

I’m the opposite, I’ve gone from a Kodi setup to a Roku & Plex. Kodi just frustrates me too much.

If you’re ok with Kodi you’re probably ok Torrenting, and Plex and a Roku are pretty great.

1 Like

Is Kodi still good? I updated to a new version few months ago and seems like many services don’t work anymore. For example, ArmyStream (or is StreamArmy?) doesn’t seem to work anymore.

1 Like

I’ve got a Plex setup that I stream to chromecasts. I can get about any TV/Movie/Music from my library and it gets added straight away. Easy to get new releases as well.