Q: Best investment(s) for short term growth/income?

I am a independent contractor - no benefits a typical employee would get like healthcare/401k. That also means my income spikes up and down. It’s common in my industry to go 6-9 months with no income in between gig’s.

Because I cannot depend on a steady stream of income, and I am the sole supporter for my family of 4, I keep an emergency fund that is larger than most keep - about 12 months worth of living expenses. Historically I have kept that money in a nice/safe Money Market (currently earning a paltry 1.25%). I would like to move a good chunk of this money to something that can do better than that without too much risk, and stay fairly liquid. My initial thought was to move about 50-75% of it into a nice proven mutual fund like a Vanguard index, keeping the rest in the money market. I would be very happy earning around 5% in a conservative growth/income type investment. Thoughts?

My requirements/goals:

1. Beat money market rates by at least double - let’s say a minimum of 3% return
  2. Low risk
  3. Low maintenance - I don’t have time to monitor it and chase for reallocating
  4. Need to be able to make small draws over time, let’s say 10% of the total per year
  5. Can be 100% liquidated in 3-5 business days (this rules out CDs)

So really it’s 2 questions…

1. Where to invest? Investment bonds?
  2. How much of the total emergency fund to allocate to it, vs. the money market?

Potential solution?
30% money market (draws would come from this first)
50% investment bonds
20% conservative mutual fund

I’m sorry to say but the Fed had it in for savers like you / us. Currently, a big diversified etf of junk bonds like HYG or JNK has a yield in the 4.5-5% range. With junk bonds, you’re likely to see defaults and not so much in the way of capital appreciation.

An investment grade bond etf, which might reasonable be classified as conservative, has a 3-3.25% yield currently and more interest rate risk.