Sadie's Shawl - Bob Sharples

Just found this YouTube post, placed there by a very kind and tech savvy contributor.

This recording, from 1956, is a fun and lively instrumental which I hope you will enjoy:

Sadie’s Shawl - Bob Sharples 1956

Here my personal back story on this:

I actually bought and enjoyed this record, in vinyl, when it was new. My best friend back then, and for many years thereafter, was a musician. He played with Guy Lombardo in his Royal Canadians orchestra. He also was the lobby pianist for many years thereafter at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA. My friend owned a collection of vinyl records numbering in the many hundreds, if not more, collected from the time we were kids.

I’m not a musician and my record collection was quite small. At some point in the 1990’s I gave up on records entirely. I no longer wanted to bother with turntables or record players which struck me at that time as outmoded. So I packed up my small record collection carefully and sent everything en toto to my friend. He had so many records I knew he never would be without the equipment to play mine.

Time passed. While I never missed my vinyl records, I did miss the music I had bought and enjoyed over the earlier years. I wrote to my friend and requested he copy the contents sheet of my record file and send the copy to me. This he did.

I have been working ever since to reassemble my collection, the recordings I had originally bought on vinyl, as mp3s I could play on my computer. And that is how I discovered Sadie’s Shawl on YouTube. :grinning:

Of all my original vinyl records only one still eludes me on the net. Every other recording I have recovered and am once again able to enjoy without help from a turntable or record player.

The missing record? It is called The Rich People of Brooklyn. The artist is Sammy Kaye.

1 Like