Vanguard Target Retirement Funds Huge Capital Gains Distribution

I’ve been using a CPA to do taxes for several years since my wife started a side business because it’s easier and worth the $400 to have it done right. Anyway, I get my returns today and I thought there must be some typo as it says I owe an additional $75+k. I’m furiously going through the return to find the typo and finally see that the Vanguard 1099 is showing a $220k capital gain from my Target Retirement 2040 account (VFORX). The previous year it was $4k.

Needless to say I’m searching the internet and found this great blog that describes everything that happened: https://www.mymoneyblog.com/vanguard-target-retirement-funds-nav-drop-cap-gains-distribution.html

Long story short, Vanguard lowered the institutional version of the fund so you only needed $5M instead of $100M so it looks like several small business moved over to the institutional (about $10B move). Vanguard sold assets which triggered huge capital gains.

I’m on the hook for almost $50k extra in federal and state taxes for this. I can’t believe Vanguard is this stupid. The short of it is does anyone know a lawyer that would look at doing a class action lawsuit for this? There are others that are paying 6 figure extra in taxes this year due to Vanguard’s actions.

I’m so disgusted with Vanguard right now that I’m not even sure what to do, other than pay my taxes so I’m not a deadbeat :rofl:

3 Likes

This is an automatically-generated Wiki post for this new topic. Any member can edit this post and use it as a summary of the topic’s highlights.

Agreed that this was a serious miscalculation by Vanguard. I’ve seen posts by others about how annoyed they are about the situation.

What would the grounds be for a lawsuit? I’m not saying you don’t have any, and I’m not a lawyer, but I’m wondering what the angle would be.

1 Like