Vivipary is very annoying

tomato-vivipary-400x300

The word “vivipary” is new to me. The phenomenon is not. And it is highly annoying.

Especially now with the inflation, tomatoes are expensive. We don’t need this sort of PITA along with everything else. Apparently this also can occur with peppers and corn. I have no such experiences with those; only with tomatoes, at least so far.

Freshness is clearly key. I need to be a LOT more careful at the grocery store.

Vivipary explained

1 Like

This is an automatically-generated Wiki post for this new topic. Any member can edit this post and use it as a summary of the topic’s highlights.

I have noticed several recent issues with some of my groceries that hadn’t occurred in the past. Blueberries for example have more often an orange fungus rotting them

Something I’d basically never encountered before (although the berries would get moldy if left too long with some other fungus, the 1st in that article I think).

And then there was the recent prepared (not bagged) salad where the lettuce was so fresh it was judged to be tasty by an inch long live slug I found on top of it when I served myself. I sure don’t want to end up like this guy

https://www.cnn.com/2018/11/05/health/man-dies-after-eating-slug-on-dare/index.html

Which means looking a lot more carefully at everything I eat I guess.

Perhaps just anecdotal, but i wonder if some of the food safety measures we took for granted may be failing with delays in the supply chains.

2 Likes

Agreed. Or it might be understaffing and/or poor or inadequate training of new staff.

This is a valuable observation, at least for me. Thanks

I eat a healthy serving of blueberries every day. But I have questioned my judgement in purchasing nothing but frozen berries. They are uniform and excellent, of course, though not always the least expensive choice. The fresh blueberries can, at times, appear to be an attractive alternative.