Woman Forcibly Removed from Southwest Plane Due to Dog Allergy

Sort of Travel, but more Off Topic. The latest in the “forcible removed passenger” genre is one Anila Daulatzai. I’m a lawyer who practices in the area of disability law, and when I saw the press coverage mention “service dog,” I thought “Some lawyer is going to get PAID!”

But what really happened is that Daulatzai complained about an emotional support animal (much much different than a service animal, as defined by the ADA). Daulatzai said she is deathly ill of dogs, but had no medical certificate to back it up. At this point, Daulatzai refused to get off the airplane, and an over-the-top forcible removal ensued.

What’s interesting to me on this one is the crowd reaction. A lot of members of the peanut gallery telling the woman to “walk off.”

Could do lots of polls on this one (are emotional-support-animal privileges abused (yes!)), but I’ll go with a straightforward: “Who was right?”

• Passenger
  • Southwest

0 voters

1 Like

I just learned firsthand that you can’t change your vote after you make it. I think Southwest was right.

1 Like

Toggle the show results / hide results to change your vote.

“I’m a professor, what are you doing?” LOL

She tried to manipulate other people by lying about an allergy. Then she was upset when it didn’t work.

1 Like

should be “kicked off plane for claiming to have a dog allergy”

I just listened to Steve Lehto’s podcast on the “Emotional Support Animal Scam” that is becoming more and more widespread, so now I am as much of an expert on the subject as the OP is! lol

Here’s the podcast: Stream The Emotional Support Animal Scam - Ep. 4.04 by Lehto's Law | Listen online for free on SoundCloud